Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Office of the Deputy Mayor for Education

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

DC Advisory Committee on Student Assignment and Boundaries 2023

Advisory Committee Meeting Details

Learn about upcoming Advisory Committee meetings and view materials and recordings from previous meetings.

About the Advisory Committee

Members of the Advisory Committee were recommended by education stakeholders and selected by the DME to reflect Washington, DC’s public school education system including ward of residence (taking the most recent 2022 redistricting into account) and enrollment preferences. These members are invested in their school communities and are committed to the success of the public education system and the future of our city.

The Advisory Committee contains ward designated members, citywide members (without ward designations), and Agency representatives.

  • Ward designated members include parents and family members with students in DCPS and public charter schools from all eight wards. The number of ward designated seats are approximate to Washington, DC’s public school population.
  • In addition to the members’ expertise in their school communities, many have additional knowledge about education policy, racial justice and equity, DC neighborhoods, and neighborhood planning.
  • Agency representatives from the DC education cluster and the Mayor’s Office of Racial Equity are also members of the Advisory Committee as well as one public charter local education agency (LEA).

Some community member designees are employed by other District agencies; however, the members' opinions are their own and are not intended to reflect their agencies of employment. Below is the full list of the Advisory Committee members with their associated schools and affiliations.

Chairperson: Paul Kihn Deputy Mayor for Education

Community Members - Ward Designated (listed in order of ward)

Quoc Nguyen Bancroft PTO Board Member; LSAT Co-Chair; Ward 1 resident
David Alpert Ward 2 Education Council President; Ross LSAT; Coalition for DC Public Schools and Communities (C4DC); Ward 2 resident
Anna Johnson

Mann PTA; Ward 3 resident

Vanessa Rubio Brightwood ES PTA, MacFarland MS PTO, ANC 4E01 Commissioner, Ward 4 Education Alliance; Ward 4 resident
Diana Delgado Bruce Monroe ES LSAT and PTA; Ward 4 resident
Julie Patton Lawson Wells MS PTO and LSA; Ward 4 resident
Yolanda Corbett Washington Leadership Academy PCS parent; KIPP DC Legacy Prep PCS parent; Rocketship PCS parent; My School DC Parent Advisory Council; Parents Amplifying Voices in Education; Advocates for Justice in Education; Ward 5 resident
Ana Rodriguez Brookland MS parent; Parents Amplifying Voices in Education; Ward 5 resident
Crystal Gray Watkins ES PTA and Equity Team; Parents Amplifying Voices in Education (PAVE) Citywide/Ward 6 Board member; Leaders of Color; Ward 6 resident
Dr. Marla Dean

Ward 7 Education Council; Coalition for DC Public Schools and Communities (C4DC); Dupont Park Civic Association; Ward 7 resident

LeKisha Jordan Watkins ES; Council of the District of Columbia Senior Policy Advisor; Ward 7 resident
Antawan Holmes Houston ES; ANC commissioner; Ward 7 resident
Malika Whatley Ketcham ES; Ward 8 resident
Brandi Reese Garfield ES PTO; Ward 8 resident
Michael Watts Phelps PTO President; Ward 8 resident

Community Members - Citywide

Cathy Reilly Senior High Alliance for Parents Principals and Educators (S.H.A.P.P.E.) Co-founder and Executive Director; Coalition for DC Public Schools and Communities (C4DC)
Nzinga Tull Coalition for DC Public Schools and Communities (C4DC); Teaching for Change
Carolyn Bowen Payne ES parent; Parents Amplifying Voices in Education; former teacher/special education coordinator; American Planning Association member
LaJoy Johnson-Law E.L. Haynes PCS parent, Advocates for Justice and Education

District Agency and Local Education Agency (LEA) Members

Paige Hoffman Chief of School Improvement and Supports, District of Columbia Public Schools
Sarah Parker Interim Officer of Engagement and Partnerships Office, District of Columbia Public Schools
Chyanne Eyde Deputy Chief of School Planning, District of Columbia Public Schools
Amy Lerman Former Executive Director, My School DC
Dr. Amber Hewitt Director, Mayor's Office of Racial Equity
Dr. Michelle Walker-Davis Executive Director, DC Public Charter School Board
Patricia Brantley Chief Executive Officer, Friendship Public Charter Schools

Back to Boundary and Student Assignment Study 2023