Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Office of the Deputy Mayor for Education

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

DC Cross-Sector Collaboration Task Force

2018 Cross-Sector Collaboration Task Force Report


The DC Cross-Sector Collaboration Task Force was charged with developing clear and fair recommendations for the Mayor on how to improve the coherence among and collaboration across public schools to improve effectiveness and efficiency. The Task Force met monthly, focusing its efforts on recommending strategies and solutions for the priority issues that will have the most impact on improving student outcomes for all public schools from cross-sector efforts between DCPS and public charter schools.

With approximately 55 percent of public school students attending DCPS and 45 percent attending a public charter school, the next chapter of improving education in DC is for both sectors to work together. The report culminates two-plus years of intensive engagement, learning, analysis, debate and cooperation from the members of the Task Force.

Structure and Membership

The Task Force, co-chaired by former interim DME Ahnna Smith and Mayor Anthony Williams, had 22 members representing various Local Education Agencies (LEAs) and district agencies, as well as public school parents and community members. Membership was balanced across sectors, demographics, and ward of residence.

Name Affliliation
Jim Sandman (facilitator) President, Legal Services Corporation; Former General Counsel, District of Columbia Public Schools (DCPS); former Managing Partner, Arnold & Porter
Ahnna Smith (co-chair) Former Interim Deputy Mayor for Education
Anthony Williams (co-chair) CEO & Executive Director, Federal City Council; Former Mayor
Amanda Alexander

Interim Chancellor, DCPS

Shanita Burney

Deputy Chief, Community Engagement, DCPS

Charlene Drew-Jarvis

Graduate, DCPS; Senior Advisor, KIPP DC PCS; Former Ward 4 City Councilwoman

Carlie Fisherow

Executive Director, DC Scholars Community Schools

Faith Gibson Hubbard

Chief Student Advocate, Office of the Student Advocate, State Board of Education (SBOE)

Erika Harrell

Principal, Achievement Prep PCS; DC Prep PCS Parent; Member, My School DC Parent Advisory Council; Member, DC School Reform Now; Member, PCSB Parent & Alumni Leadership Council (PALC)

Kemba Hendrix

Elsie Whitlow Stokes PCS Parent; Former Public and PCS Teacher; Director of House Democratic Diversity Initiative at United States House of Representatives

Irene Holtzman

Executive Director, Friends of Choice in Urban Schools (FOCUS)

Hanseul Kang State Superintendent of Education
Melissa Kim

Deputy Chancellor, DCPS; Former Chief Academic Officer, KIPP DC; Former Principal, DCPS

Emily Lawson Founder, Board Member, and Former CEO, DC Prep PCS
Bethany Little Murch ES and BASIS PCS Parent; Principal, EducationCounsel
Claudia Luján Deputy Chief, Strategic School Planning, DCPS
Scott Pearson Executive Director, Public Charter School Board (PCSB)
Alejandra Vallejo

Bancroft Parent; Chair, Bancroft ES Local School Advisory Team (W1)

Karen Williams

President, Ward 7 Representative, SBOE

Darren Woodruff

Founding Director, The DeBruce Foundation; Benjamin Banneker HS Parent; Former Chair, PCSB

Shantelle Wright

Founder & CEO, Achievement Prep PCS; Chair, DC Association

For more information please see our Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

If you have any questions, please email [email protected] or call (202) 727-0696.